Books hunting

January 13, 2009 at 4:39 pm (Uncategorized)

One of the greatest things that happened to me lately is that I returned back into reading stronger than before. When I say stronger I mean finishing a book in 3-4 days lol.

So, so, so, two weeks ago, I finished reading “If I should Speak” by Umm Zakiyyah. Hher way of writing is simple and moreover impressing. Islam prevails in all of her books with quotes from the Quraan. The book is followed by a continuation in another book of hers called “A Voice”. She has two more books which are “Footsteps” and “Realities of Submission”.

if-i-should-speak

Last week I finished reading “Alchemist”  by the famous writer Paulo Coelho. Everybody made a huge fuss about it saying that it’s the bestest book ever. I read it and would you believe me if I said it bored me?! I admit some parts of it were mesmerizing but overall, I thought it would wow me!

I read two of his writings last year and I really loved them, the latter more than the first. They were “Eleven Minutes” and “Veronika Decides to Die”. Veronika’s story will be on TV soon but I don’t think it will be any nearer to how amazing it is in the book. I am intending to read more of his work after I am done with my own readings because this author is one of a type.

elevenminutes

veronika

Today, I have started reading “The Littler Prisoner” by Jane Elliott. Oh my God, I can’t describe how sad the story is and how tortured the poor girl is. I kept on reading it today and was choking knowing how illtreated she was with her mom aknowledging all that. I have earlier talked about another story that I read which was about the torture of a little boy here but “Little Prisoner” suffering can never be compared to it!

the-little-prisoner

I have been feeling so happy today and I don’t wanna ruin my mood whatsoever. Why, it’s because a bunch of books were shipped to me from Canada by a sweet friend of mine. I can’t wait to finish “The Little Prisoner” till I read them all.

To read list are :

theshack

the-girl-with-the-dragon-tattoo

ur-heart-belongs-to-me

just-after-sunset

the-best-american-short-stories

I wish I can finish each in one week so I can start another good read after 2 months lol.

Crazy I know ;D

P.S. Guide me to good reads please 😉

20 Comments

  1. Candy said,

    hi siso0o,
    gr8 post ^_________^
    veronica decides 2die,dont know where am going 2 read this book, <_<
    i had this book since months <_<

    elevn miutes,this book is haunting me whenever i go 2 bookstore,so it means i should buy it?? :S
    tatto girl,seems interesting ^^
    if i like the cover, it means i should read it <^^”
    jane elliote,i think i should read the book that u mentioned ^^

  2. Naseem said,

    I read “Eleven Minutes” and “the Alchemist” and I agree with you on “the Alchemist” is not so wow as per the hype… however, in the same area you can read “The man who sold his Ferrari” by Robin Sharma. I am a big Robin Sharma fan and Paulo Coelho too…

    I recommend you “Digital Fortress” and “Angels and Demons” by Dan Brown

    at the moment I am into Up-Lifting books not novels… 😛

  3. His Sweetheart said,

    Candy
    Go for it ;D

  4. His Sweetheart said,

    Naseem
    Your list has been added to my to read list ;D

    Thank you!

  5. Aafke said,

    I know just how you feel!
    I’ve just recieved a couple of books from Amazon, and I can’t wait to start! 😀

    If you like Dean Koontz; I loved ”The watchers”, I grew really fond of the characters in that book.
    I also love everything by Jane Austen, and Agatha Cristie, And Ngaio Marsh.

  6. Another-Penelope said,

    hey sweetheart
    wow mashalla you read all those books, jeeesh I’m gonna grab eleven minutes book after the witch of portobello , o mabrook for finishing reading those books ^_^

  7. Gone Bonkers. said,

    I don’t know much about novels but i’m trying to get my hands on Barack Obama’s The Audacity of Hope …. i remember Oprah promoting it 🙂

    btw girl, you’ve been awarded twice i guess! http://the-sea-is-a-woman.blogspot.com/2009/01/butterfly-award-d.html

  8. nemo said,

    Cool selection will add them to my list!!

    this may help .. i have collected some recommendations too

    http://cute-nemo.blogspot.com/2009/01/januarys-books.html

  9. His Sweetheart said,

    Aafke
    Yeah, it’s such a wonderful feeling lol

    It’s the 1st time for me to read Dean Koontz. Agatha Cristie books were my highschool favorites lol

  10. His Sweetheart said,

    Another Penelope
    Thanks sweet thing 😉

  11. His Sweetheart said,

    Nemo
    Thank youill definitely check them out 😉

  12. His Sweetheart said,

    Gone Bonkers
    i don’t know, I really wanted to buy Obama’s book but everytime I get close to it, I get this No No No call lol

  13. Aafke said,

    Koonts is a bit scary! But the people (and dog) in the watchers, really touched me, more than usual inn these kinds of books! 🙂

    If you like Cristie so much (as me 😉 ) , you’ll really like Ngaio Marsh
    -Tied up in tinsel
    -Night at the Vulcan
    -A surfeit of Lampreys
    -Artists in crime
    -When in Rome
    -Light thickens
    -Scales of justice

    All highly recommended! 🙂

  14. Aafke said,

    Oh, and ”False scent”!

  15. Candy said,

    did i mention that candy = venus ^^”

  16. Zara said,

    I’m an avid reader too! The truth is I prefer a book with pretty cover page. I would give the girl with the dragon tattoo and your hearts belongs to me a try coz the covers are really pretty and cool!

  17. eshda3wa said,

    i know i have a copy of the little prisoner somewhere

    i have to find it

  18. His Sweetheart said,

    Aafke
    Seems an excellenet read! thanks my dear

  19. His Sweetheart said,

    Zara
    I can’t but agree

  20. His Sweetheart said,

    eshda3wa
    You better do!

Leave a Reply

